Meet the Derm In-Review Advisory Council (DIRAC)

The Derm In-Review Advisory Council (DIRAC) is a select group of top-performing dermatology residents and early career dermatologists who serve as content reviewers and subject-matter experts. They contribute their knowledge and time to ensure Derm In-Review remains the #1 study tool of choice for dermatology residents.

The Derm In-Review Advisory Council is chaired by Dr. Adam Friedman, Professor, Residency Program Director, and Interim Chair of Dermatology at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Known for his forward-thinking approach to dermatology and his desire to support the next generation of dermatologists, Dr. Friedman is constantly spearheading innovative ways to increase emphasis on educational outcomes and serve as an exemplary role model for dermatology residents. Dr. Friedman has been and continues to be instrumental in the success of Derm In-Review, contributing his expertise to the constant review of our program.

Under Dr. Friedman’s guidance, members of the Derm In-Review Advisory Council help evaluate and choose content for our study tools and resources so that they reflect the most robust and up-to-date content all dermatology residents should know. Furthermore, DIRAC members are offered career development opportunities through other Derm In-Review media partners including Next Steps in Derm, the Journal of Drugs in Dermatology (JDD), the Skin of Color Update, and the ODAC conference.

All DIRAC members receive recognition and credit in all of Derm In-Review publications and sponsored events and are welcome to cite their contributions in their CVs.

Advisory Council Chair

Adam Friedman, MD, FAAD
Derm In-Review Advisory Council, Chair
Professor and Chair of Dermatology
Residency Program Director
Director of Translational Research
Director of the Supportive Oncodermatology Clinic
Department of Dermatology
George Washington School of Medicine and Health Sciences

Advisory Board Council

Freba Farhat, MD

PGY-4 Chief Dermatology Resident

Virginia Commonwealth University

Jacqueline P. McKesey, MD, MS

PGY-4 Chief Dermatology Resident

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Edita Newton, MD, PhD

PGY-4 Resident Physician

Department of Dermatology
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Shweta Shukla, MD

PGY-3 Dermatology Resident

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Sang Kim, MD

PGY-4 Dermatology Resident

National Capital Consortium

Cula N. Svidzinski, MD, PhD

Medical Director, Skin of Color Center; Assistant Professor, Department of Dermatology

Mount Sinai

Luke Josiah Maxfield, DO

Micrographic Surgery & Dermatologic Oncology Fellow

Campbell University

James J. Contestable, MD | LCDR, MC (FS/SWMDO), USN

Director, Dermatology and Laser Clinic

Naval Medical Center Camp Lejeune

Andrea Waldman, MD, FAAD, FAAP

Director of Pediatric and Adolescent Dermatology Mount Sinai Doctors Faculty Practice

Assistant Professor of Dermatology and Pediatrics at Mount Sinai Icahn School of Medicine

Ann M. John, MD

Mohs & Cosmetic Surgeon

Private Practice

Matthew Willett, MD, FAAD | LCDR, MC (FMF/SS), USN

Staff Dermatologist

Naval Health Clinic New England

Mojgan Hosseinipour, DO

Mojgan Hosseinipour, DO, FAAD


Dermatology Associates of the Palm Beaches